ACTION ALERT – Demand Action on Overdose Prevention Site bill – Let SB135/HB139 have a vote!

While every bill is guaranteed a hearing during the annual legislative session, they are not all guaranteed a vote. The hearings for SB135/HB139 (Overdose and Infectious Disease Prevention Site Program) were held on February 14 and we had a room packed with supporters and zero opposition. But leadership has failed to bring this bill up for a vote. If this bill isn’t voted out of committee by March 18, the crossover deadline, it’s not likely to move at all this year.

Please take 5 minutes to call and email the legislators listed below to demand they take action and let SB135/HB139 have a vote! Thank you for your support!

Suggested Script:

An average of six Marylanders per day are dying from preventable opioid overdose while our elected representatives are waiting for the proper political climate to take action. Overdose prevention sites are something we can, and should, do now in Maryland! I’m asking you to demand that SB135/HB139 be allowed a vote. There was no opposition at the bill hearings with a broad range of people and experts in support including MedChi, MATOD, MD-DC Society of Addiction Medicine, Drug Policy Alliance, and AIDS United.

The proposed Overdose and Infectious Disease Prevention Site Program mirrors the nearly 120 such programs already established across the world. More than 60 cities in ten countries operate such programs, and numerous studies demonstrate the positive impacts, including studies conducted by our own Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. There is an abundance of evidence showing that overdose prevention facilities reduce overdose deaths, provide an entry into treatment, reduce public use and publicly discarded syringes, are cost-effective and do NOT encourage or increase additional drug use, youth drug use, or crime. This pilot project would be overseen by the Maryland Department of Health in consultation with local jurisdictions.

Overdose prevention sites reduce health and public order issues by targeting high-risk drug users who often otherwise inject in public. The programs are intended for the most marginalized people – including those who are homeless, inject on the street, and sex workers who use drugs. Many of these individuals live in poverty, with limited access to housing and other basic needs. These individuals are at significant risk of death from overdose, which the medical supervision provided at overdose prevention sites can effectively eliminate. There has not been a single overdose fatality at any overdose prevention facility.

Our elected representatives must quit stalling while people who use drugs continue to die from accidental overdose every day. They must demand that this measure be brought to a vote so it can be discussed among the entire Maryland General Assembly like other important issues.

Thank you for your attention on this lifesaving issue.

[name & address or legislative district]

Prioritize phone calls to:

First
Name
Last
Name
Title Jurisdiction(s) Phone Number
Thomas
V. (Mike)
Miller,
Jr.
Senate
President
Calvert,
Prince George’s
410-841-3700
Mike Busch Speaker
of the House
Anne
Arundel
410-841-3800
Shane Pendergrass Chair,
House HGO
Howard 410-841-3139
Delores
G.
Kelley Chair,
Senate Finance
Baltimore 410-841-3606
Sheree Sample-Hughes Chair,
House Opioid Workgroup
Dorchester,
Wicomico
410-841-3427

All emails (copy+paste):

thomas.v.mike.miller@senate.state.md.us, michael.busch@house.state.md.us, shane.pendergrass@house.state.md.us, delores.kelley@senate.state.md.us, Sheree.Sample.Hughes@house.state.md.us, kirill.reznik@house.state.md.us, “Bromwell, Eric Delegate” <eric.bromwell@house.state.md.us>, dalya.attar@house.state.md.us, Erek.Barron@house.state.md.us, harry.bhandari@house.state.md.us, nick.charles@house.state.md.us, ken.kerr@house.state.md.us, nicholaus.kipke@house.state.md.us, robbyn.lewis@house.state.md.us, “Bartlett, Sandy Delegate” <sandy.bartlett@house.state.md.us>, kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us, Michael.Malone@house.state.md.us, Jason.Buckel@house.state.md.us, jheanelle.wilkins@house.state.md.us, malcolm.augustine@senate.state.md.us, pamela.beidle@senate.state.md.us, joanne.benson@senate.state.md.us, “Feldman, Brian Senator” <brian.feldman@senate.state.md.us>, “Hayes, Antonio Senator” <antonio.hayes@senate.state.md.us>, steve.hershey@senate.state.md.us, jb.jennings@senate.state.md.us, katherine.klausmeier@senate.state.md.us, Ben.Kramer@senate.state.md.us, edward.reilly@senate.state.md.us, “Bagnall, Heather Delegate” <heather.bagnall@house.state.md.us>, alfred.carr@house.state.md.us, brian.chisholm@house.state.md.us, bonnie.cullison@house.state.md.us, Terri.Hill@house.state.md.us, steve.johnson@house.state.md.us, ariana.kelly@house.state.md.us, susan.krebs@house.state.md.us, Ric.Metzgar@house.state.md.us, Matt.Morgan@house.state.md.us, “Pena-Melnyk, Joseline Delegate” <joseline.pena.melnyk@house.state.md.us>, samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us, Sid.Saab@house.state.md.us, kathy.szeliga@house.state.md.us, Karen.Young@house.state.md.us

All leadership and members of Senate Finance, House HGO, and House Opioid Workgroup

First
Name
Last
Name
Title Jurisdiction(s) Phone Number Email Address
Thomas
V. (Mike)
Miller,
Jr.
Senate
President
Calvert,
Prince George’s
410-841-3700 thomas.v.mike.miller@senate.state.md.us
Mike Busch Speaker
of the House
Anne
Arundel
410-841-3800 michael.busch@house.state.md.us
Shane Pendergrass Chair,
House HGO
Howard 410-841-3139 shane.pendergrass@house.state.md.us
Delores
G.
Kelley Chair,
Senate Finance
Baltimore 410-841-3606 delores.kelley@senate.state.md.us
Sheree Sample-Hughes Chair,
House Opioid Workgroup
Dorchester,
Wicomico
410-841-3427 Sheree.Sample.Hughes@house.state.md.us
Kirill Reznik Delegate Montgomery 410-841-3039 kirill.reznik@house.state.md.us
Eric Bromwell Delegate Baltimore 410-841-3766 eric.bromwell@house.state.md.us
Dalya Attar Delegate Baltimore
City
410-841-3268 dalya.attar@house.state.md.us
Erek
L.
Barron Delegate Prince
Georges
410-841-3692 Erek.Barron@house.state.md.us
Harry Bhandari Delegate Baltimore 410-841-3526 harry.bhandari@house.state.md.us
Nick Charles Delegate Prince
Georges
410-841-3707 nick.charles@house.state.md.us
Ken Kerr Delegate Frederick 410-841-3240 ken.kerr@house.state.md.us
Nicholaus
R.
Kipke Delegate Anne
Arundel
410-841-3421 nicholaus.kipke@house.state.md.us
Robbyn Lewis Delegate Baltimore
City
410-841-3772 robbyn.lewis@house.state.md.us
J.
Sandy
Bartlett Delegate Anne
Arundel
410-841-3370 sandy.bartlett@house.state.md.us
Kathleen Dumais Delegate Montgomery 410-841-3052 kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us
Michael
Edward
Malone Delegate Anne
Arundel
410-841-3510 Michael.Malone@house.state.md.us
Jason
C.
Buckel Delegate Allegany 410-841-3404 Jason.Buckel@house.state.md.us
Jheanelle Wilkins Delegate Montgomery 410-841-3493 jheanelle.wilkins@house.state.md.us
Malcolm Augustine Senator Prince
George’s
410-841-3745 malcolm.augustine@senate.state.md.us
Pamela Beidle Senator Anne
Arundel
410-841-3593 pamela.beidle@senate.state.md.us
Joanne
C.
Benson Senator Prince
Georges
410-841-3148 joanne.benson@senate.state.md.us
Brian
J.
Feldman Senator Montgomery 410-841-3169 brian.feldman@senate.state.md.us
Antonio Hayes Senator Baltimore
City
410-841-3656 antonio.hayes@senate.state.md.us
Stephen
S.
Hershey,
Jr.
Senator Kent,
Queen Anne’s, Caroline
410-841-3639 steve.hershey@senate.state.md.us
J.B. Jennings Senator Baltimore,
Harford
410-841-3706 jb.jennings@senate.state.md.us
Kathy Klausmeier Senator Baltimore 410-841-3620 katherine.klausmeier@senate.state.md.us
Ben Kramer Senator Montgomery 410-841-3151 Ben.Kramer@senate.state.md.us
Edward
R.
Reilly Senator Anne
Arundel
410-841-3568 edward.reilly@senate.state.md.us
Heather Bagnall Delegate Anne
Arundel
410-841-3406 heather.bagnall@house.state.md.us
Al Carr Delegate Montgomery 410-841-3638 alfred.carr@house.state.md.us
Brian Chisholm Delegate Anne
Arundel
410-841-3206 brian.chisholm@house.state.md.us
Bonnie Cullison Delegate Montgomery 410-841-3883 bonnie.cullison@house.state.md.us
Terri Hill Delegate Baltimore,
Howard
410-841-3378 Terri.Hill@house.state.md.us
Steve Johnson Delegate Harford 410-841-3280 steve.johnson@house.state.md.us
Ariana Kelly Delegate Montgomery 410-841-3642 ariana.kelly@house.state.md.us
Susan Krebs Delegate Carroll 410-841-3200 susan.krebs@house.state.md.us
Ric Metzgar Delegate Baltimore

410-841-3332 Ric.Metzgar@house.state.md.us
Matt Morgan Delegate St.
Mary’s
410-841-3170 Matt.Morgan@house.state.md.us
Joseline Pena-Melnyk Delegate Prince
George’s, Anne Arundel
410-841-3502 joseline.pena.melnyk@house.state.md.us
Samuel
I. “Sandy”
Rosenberg Delegate Baltimore
City
410-841-3297 samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us
Sid Saab Delegate Anne
Arundel
410-841-3551 Sid.Saab@house.state.md.us
Kathy Szeliga Delegate Baltimore,
Harford
410-841-3698 kathy.szeliga@house.state.md.us
Karen
Lewis
Young Delegate Frederick 410-841-3436 Karen.Young@house.state.md.us

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.